on
off
touch
scribble
credit
<< host >>

< overwhelming relief | posted at 2:00 pm on March 18, 2004 >

relief is overwhelming.

went to pick up my film today - tuesday night was doing my photo assignment and since i had to put a tungsten filter on, the light cut down so much that the shutter speeds I was shooting at were around 1/4 or 1/8 of a second. Had stupidly left my tripod at home so was relying on a steady hand (which you should never rely on!) to get me through - and took a look at the slides today. they're ok, not fantastic, but there's no blur, which is the cause of aforementioned overwhelming relief. phew!

have to do the second half of the assignment, which is what i'm doing tonight... i'm loving the fact that the lab is open from 7am to 8.30pm weekdays so i can drop film off anytime...

and since i picked up the film before work today, i used work's lupe to look at them properly. my editor came out, took a look, was impressed, and we had a chat about the possibilities of me doing some photography for the mag - which would please me to no end. i could build up a portfolio much more quickly this way (and cheaper - wouldn't have to pay for film or processing etc) and also have the pics published. i mean, we're not talking cover shoots or anything huge yet, but bits and pieces. and it was a very casual chat... but still. how very exciting!

am having some sort of issue with my sister - she's shitty at me, but won't admit it, and just sulks whenever i see her, and won't talk to me. which you know, is her problem - but it does really hurt me when i come home one day a week and she won't even hug me (hugging and affection is a big thing in our family, so it's really offensive if she doesn't want to)... yesterday i took the train back from westie home and was really upset 'cause she wouldn't even acknowledge my existence. she's so immature sometimes. what annoys me about my sister is that she just doesn't deal with things well at all. she's really immature like that. if she has some weeny argument with someone she gets all affected and takes everything personally. you can't go through life like that. you can't get all worked up and depressed about some tiny thing. she just needs to grow up.

otherwise, that's all. vietnamese class is going well, uni is somewhat undemanding at the moment and work seems to be sailing along. i feel so very banal. i need to shake things up. ideas?

those last five
- - June 13, 2008
hidden - August 14, 2006
it's not me, it's you - January 30, 2006
boring. Sorry. not really. - December 22, 2005
twenty-one - December 09, 2005