on
off
touch
scribble
credit
<< host >>

< every person alive is everyone who's died | posted at 10:35 am on October 17, 2005 >

I just woke up.

Man, I am lazy.

So, post email-snooping all has been fine. I went to see A talk at a design conference on Friday, which was good, except that afterwards we were standing around just outside the venue and his flatmate had an epileptic seizure. Which was not good. I totally froze and had no idea what to do, which is really unlike me. I've never frozen before and afterwards (after he had been taken care of by other people whose reaction time was a lot quicker than mine) I felt awful. Totally helpless. It scared me because I'd never seen that happen to anyone, and it's even stranger when it happens to someone you know. Suddenly this person is out of control and needs help. I didn't even have the sense to call A, the producer who works with him did that (he was in the speakers lounge having a quick meeting with someone).

So now i have researched what to do when that happens and hopefully if it ever does I won't freeze again. (FYI, don't hold their tongue, there's no danger of them swallowing it - it's just an old wive's tale).

We're going away for the weekend again next weekend, down the coast where A's friend's parents have a holiday house and the weekend is free. Very cool.

I think I'm falling into him too much. It's not like I've totally deserted my friends etc, not one of those situations, because I still see them a lot and everything. But suddenly all the things I talk about involve him, because he was there, because this and that. And I definitely don't want to be one of those girls. I went to dinner with my friends on Saturday and really noticed this. And they are all single (one just newly so) so it's really obvious. I don't really know what to do about it, either. Because it also so happens that he and I are in the same kind of profession (design) and all his friends are as well, whereas my friends from school have all decided to study law. So I can't relate to applying for clerkships, what kind of firm is good, what lectures they are attending. And it's really hard to know what to say and I always feel a little strange about it. When I can talk to him and his friends a whole lot easier.

Forget it... have to go to uni now.

those last five
- - June 13, 2008
hidden - August 14, 2006
it's not me, it's you - January 30, 2006
boring. Sorry. not really. - December 22, 2005
twenty-one - December 09, 2005