on
off
touch
scribble
credit
<< host >>

< an eventful day | posted at 12:13 am on February 24, 2004 >

yesterday went to trop(fest), my throat still aches from the screaming. the wonderful animator that won three awards (the most that night! and the most important, of course, people's choice!) is my good friend! my very good friend! and so there we were, screaming our lungs out and spending hundreds of dollars in smses in the 'family and friends of filmmakers' section (ooh, alliteration). afterwards i joined him and friends at the afterparty, got home around 3.30, and since (kinda) moved into my new place this morning, had to pack, so slept at around 4.30, and woke again at 7... needless to say i am a little tired - but it was all worth it. i'm so, so incredibly happy for him.

so anyway i signed my lease and picked up my key this morning, and out of sheer luck got the best room in the apartment (well, in my opinion, anyway). my parents insisted on accompanying me to make sure 'everything was all right'. so i dreaded embarrassment when i entered, however, when i got there, noone was home. sweet. then i hear someone swipe in, and a girl comes in - with her parents. we look at each other in shared amusement.

she seems nice. one out of three i have met. tomorrow i'm going back to drop more stuff off and get more comfortable. hopefully will meet the mystery two soon. (they look clean, at least, their toiletries do). i hope they're nice. the apartment's nice. balcony, it's quiet, nice place. i think i got lucky.

after work today i also went to my first vietnamese tafe lesson. my sister and i are learning, but not telling the parents, so as to surprise them when we've gotten more acquainted with the language. i've missed four, by being in india, so i was scared i'd be behind. but everything was ok! all the stuff they learnt in those four weeks pretty much was my basic knowledge of the language, and even now we are a little ahead with our elementary knowledge. it's a nice, relaxing lesson though. the people are nice, and the teacher is pretty cool.

all in all, a packed day. in the middle of that i went back to work. the mags came back today. they look pretty good, i think. sweet. over and out. will report on two remaining flatmates soon... eek!

those last five
- - June 13, 2008
hidden - August 14, 2006
it's not me, it's you - January 30, 2006
boring. Sorry. not really. - December 22, 2005
twenty-one - December 09, 2005