on
off
touch
scribble
credit
<< host >>

< you tricked me once | posted at 10:59 am on July 17, 2004 >

if you can remember that far back, at the end of 2001 (and continuing to the beginning of 2002) i had a big falling out with my best friend at the time. yesterday i went to her 21st.

you know at 21sts where they have a slideshow of all the baby pictures and the pictures with friends and the daggy pictures etc, you know the one. i featured in one of the 200 photos, in a group shot, down the bottom. and it's not a particularly good photo of me either.

instead there are stacks of photos with people who were her peripheral friends back at school. she is trying to send a message.

sometimes i hate her, sometimes i'm jealous of her, sometimes i feel sorry for her. most of the time i just feel insecure about her.

but i didn't have a bad time last night. i kind of half delighted in the fact there was hardly anyone there. kind of half delighted, but kind of half felt pretty sorry for her too, it would be pretty sad.

two of my friends gave a speech. thought the Big Incident of 2001/02 wouldn't be mentioned, but it was... right at the beginning, to my embarrassment and surprise.

her dad told me that if he was younger he'd be 'chatting [me] up for sure'. then he tried to introduce me to some frenchman. Later on he made a speech ending with the affirmation that 'I'm not going to make a fool out of myself tonight dear'. was so close to yelling out that he already had.

Actually the highlight of my night was driving nick's car (ok, sure, it was just around the corner) and reverse parking it - quite brilliantly, if I may say so myself. My passenger said 'Pretty good park, for a strange car too' and I glowed in happiness.

yes my only dream is to be a good driver.

We gave her a scarf and jewellery. I bought it yesterday.

those last five
- - June 13, 2008
hidden - August 14, 2006
it's not me, it's you - January 30, 2006
boring. Sorry. not really. - December 22, 2005
twenty-one - December 09, 2005