on
off
touch
scribble
credit
<< host >>

< in the cold cold night | posted at 9:14 pm on October 08, 2003 >

i was shopping for shoes yesterday (ankle high sneakers, the coolest thing this side of sydney, except only in one size too small but i'm still tossing up, leather gives, and these are leather, and they're cool, but they're two hundred bucks, and as spendthrift as i am... but i digress) and the girl who served me, she asked me where i was from, we found out we had the same last name. she used to live a few suburbs down the road from me, also. she asked me if i was a student, i said yes, asked her, she said 'no, i'm a mum.' and then i said 'but you look my age!' and she said 'i'm 22.' and i said 'ahh, i'm 18. how old's the kid?' and she goes 'two and a half.' so she had bubba when she was 19 and therefore was pregnant around the age i am now. and she's just broken up with the father, after four years.

and it made me think, god, imagine if i got pregnant now. i would so not be ready to keep it. that baby, i'm sorry to say, would be gone in a flash. but it really made me think... about the choices we make and where we end up. this girl was working full time in a shoe store. but it's a thought.

i calligraphised awards invites today, it was fun. i did my own. i didn't write '+guest' 'cause even though i have a guest, i don't have anyone confirmed yet so, well, it looks tacky.

i am pissed off we are going away on this weekend, because the awards judging screenings are being held which would mean a wicked in-the-day private-screening movie marathon for me, for movies i haven't yet seen - and for free! alexandra's project, gettin' square, japanese story, swimming upstream, you can't stop the murders... five movies there i haven't seen and would love to see. fucking. i even considered bailing on the weekend, but thought no, and my sister pointed out that yes, it is effectively saying i'd rather watch films than go away on a weekend with my friends.

which, er, considering most of them aren't my friends, is a viable option... but that would also mean going to work on the weekend which i hate and also would mean going to work when there is some sort of function on at the SCG which i also HATE.

my musicianship results came back today! pass with honours! scraped in (85).. my sister got 82 which means that she only got a credit... and i thought it was a borderling pass, that made my night. oh and also enrolment info came in the mail (i have to enrol for 2004 already, stupid buggers) and i'm well on the way of figuring out my 04 timetable, except - and this is where YOU come in - i don't know when photography 3 and 4 is on! and it's not on the net yet! i need info to schedule! please please please tell me when they're scheduled, you lovely design student, you? (i can tell you any of the humanities ones in return... x!)

that, i believe, is all.

those last five
- - June 13, 2008
hidden - August 14, 2006
it's not me, it's you - January 30, 2006
boring. Sorry. not really. - December 22, 2005
twenty-one - December 09, 2005